Christmas Eve

 As am looking after the cottage for a few days, Hilary and the girls offered to do the horses this morning, part of my christmas treat so that I could have an easy morning!

Up early, the hens and donkeys were fed and the boys walked before breakfast, this was going to be good.  Nothing to do till a family gathering at lunch time.

Then the phone rang, problems with a property I look after and a thirty mile round trip to sort the mess out! 

"Well ladies, what shall we do today?"

 

"I'm doing it!"

 

While I was out, I delivered some presents to my sister and aunt.  I found my uncle (in his seventies) carrying buckets of water from the local river, their water supply has been frozen for several days.  After drinking river water on a climbing trip years ago and contracting dysentery I only hope he was boiling it!

Shotley Grove Road, on the way to my aunt

 

I finally made it to the pub for lunch at 2.30 but it was nice to see everyone and lunch was good.

Horses done, hens and donkeys tucked up in bed and the boys walked, I am now battling with my old laptop to produce this.

It’s been a funny old day.

Hilary and the girls have offered to do the horses in the morning so that I can have an easy start to the day……………..

I AM STAYING IN BED!!

3 thoughts on “Christmas Eve

  1. Hi Jon,

    It’s good to see that you can now take it easier now you’ve reached your 50’s!

    Remember at this stage pacing is the the key…it just needs longer to do everything that has to be done..so you are not knackered at the end of the day.

    Enjoy your morning in bed..

    Alan.

    🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

